The Vernon Vipers have taken to social media to announce their season-ending award winners. (Photo: Vernon Vipers/YouTube)

Vernon Vipers tweet out award winners

BCHL team announcing season-ending award winners on a daily basis over two weeks

  • Mar. 29, 2020 12:00 a.m.

UPDATED MONDAY, MARCH 30, 3:20 p.m.: Landon Fuller won his second award, picking up the team’s Blueliners Academic Scholarship.


They’ve done it after the playoffs. They’ve done it after the final regular-season home game.

Now, the Vernon Vipers have taken to social media to announce their season-ending award winners.

The Vipers are announcing one winner per day on the team’s Twitter feed, @VernonVipers, over a two-week span.

It began with the top scorer award going to Vernon native Matt Kowalski, who scored 26 goals and added 36 assists for 62 points in 58 games played. Kowalski finished 15 points higher than Dawson Holt and Connor Marritt.

JoJo Tanaka-Campbell became the first double award winner. He was named Most Improved Player Sunday (March 29) to go along with the Bill Brown Award for academic excellence announced earlier.

The Most Sportsmanlike Player Award went to Connor Sleeth, who amassed just 18 penalty minutes in 57 games played.

Marritt and defenceman Landon Fuller were the co-winners of the Rienie Holland Memorial Community Service Award.

Picking up the Wayne Buck Memorial Award for hard work and unselfish play was defenceman Trey Taylor.

The Vipers finished fifth in the Interior Division but had advanced to Round 2 of the playoffs after dispatching the Wenatchee Wild in five games in its opening-round best-of-seven series when the season was canceled due to COVID-19. Vernon would have played the pennant-winning Penticton Vees in the second round.

@VernonNewsroger@vernonmorningstar.comLike us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Vernon Morning Star

Just Posted

Most Read