Terrace reclaims King of the Mountain crown

THE KING of the Mountain crown has returned to Terrace.

THE KING of the Mountain crown has returned to Terrace.

Chris Hampton, who was second last year, edged out last year’s champion Judson Rowse from Port Edward by 17 seconds, winning the 40+ category and overall race with a time of 0:49:38.1.

Rowse’s second place time for the category and overall race was 0:49:55.7.

Willie Muller came third with a time of 0:56:24.6 and seventh overall of the 61 runners.

Terrace runners won the remaining categories with the exception of the Male 18-39 category which went to Smithers’ Dave Percy with a time of 0:51:52.2, which placed him third overall.

Second was James Clay with 0:53.06.2, which put him fourth overall and Cody Skog was third with 0:53:22.4 for fifth place overall.

Eight-year-old Kohen Butler won the Youth 17 and under group with a time of 1:07:32.5 followed by Myah Bowal with 1:43.41.2 and Kelsyn Bowal with 1:43:58.8.

Butler’s time was also good enough for 26th place overall.

Tara Irwin won the Female 18-39 group with a time of 0:59:17.2, which put her 13th overall.

Gabe Newman of Smithers was second with 1:00:36.9, placing her 16th overall and Teresa Shiflett was third with 1:06:08.2 and 23rd overall.

Last year’s winner Donna Hull was unable to run this year due to injury.

Terrace women swept the top of the Female 40+ group with Sherrie Hamer winning with 1:07:36.5 and 28th overall, Kim Barriere was second with 1:12:24.5 and 37th overall and Lana Raposo was third with 1:18:09.6 and 42nd overall.

Organizer Nadene Butler said runners came from as far away as Germany, Nanaimo, Courtenay and Burns Lake.

Terrace Standard