Storm contain Dynamiters in Cyclone Taylor Cup

Former Steam Braden Saretsky and Pentictonite Eric Buckley fall short in championship game

The Campbell River Storm claimed the B.C. Cylcone Taylor Cup junior B championship with a 6-5 victory over the Kimberley Dynamiters on Monday.

The high scoring title match saw 11 different goal-scorers and 17 players registering at least a point. The Dynamiters trailed 6-3 late in the game, pulled the goaltender and with three minutes remaining in the third period scored twice on goals by Jason Richter and Jordan Busch with the extra attacker to narrow the gap to a goal. The KIJHL champs couldn’t get any closer.

Former Summerland Steam Braden Saretsky had a goal and three points for the Dynamiters, while Penticton’s Eric Buckley went pointless in four games.

The Storm will now go on to represent the province at the Keystone Cup in Cold Lake, Alta.

In the bronze medal game, the host Mission City Outlaws trounced the North Van Wolf Pack 7-0.



Penticton Western News

Just Posted

Most Read