Nanaimo sport award finalists announced

The Nanaimo Sport Achievement Awards finalists were announced this week.

Some of the city’s favourite teams and standout sports stars will cap off their seasons with another honour. The Nanaimo Sport Achievement Awards finalists were announced this week.

With the 11th annual gala event coming up Feb. 12, a panel of judges made up of media and other members of the sports community determined finalists in each of the awards categories.

In addition to the categories listed below, there will be a presentation of the Michael Rhode Memorial Award for longtime dedication to sport, as well as the Hero in You Award.

This year’s finalists include:

Male Team Athlete of the Year – Jon Diplock, lacrosse; Justin King, basketball; Sheldon Rempal, hockey.

Female Team Athlete of the Year – Jenna Carver, basketball; Madison Krassman, lacrosse; Tylar Turnbull, volleyball.

Male Individual Athlete of the Year – Andrew de Groot, running; Cal McDonald, grappling; Riley Prout-Holm, swimming.

Female Individual Athlete of the Year – Erin Burrett, cross-country running; Janna Gillick, cycling; Morgan Theedom, bowling.

Male Junior Team Athlete of the Year – Tyus Barfoot, basketball; Cory Fletcher, football; Cole Warken, baseball.

Female Junior Team Athlete of the Year – Rachel Baird, soccer; Samantha Chwelos, volleyball; Hannah Proud, synchronized swimming.

Male Junior Individual Athlete of the Year – Adin Brenner, gymnastics; Jason Clare, pole vault; Sean Miller, running.

Female Junior Individual Athlete of the Year – Mikayla Eby, bowling; Alyssa Mousseau, running; Kassidy Ruelle, equestrian.

Masters Athlete of the Year – Hirendra Bhartu, lawn bowling; Sandie Bissessur, track and field; Derek Steel, cycling.

Partners of the Year – Cameron Antifave and Michael Lanyon, paddling; Sam Harder and Jeff Webb, beach volleyball; Melissa Liew and Graydon Robb, badminton.

Team of the Year – Nanaimo Timbermen senior B lacrosse; VIU Mariners men’s basketball; VIU Mariners women’s volleyball.

Junior Team of the Year – Dover Bay Dolphins senior AAA boys’ volleyball; Nanaimo White Rapids Summer Swim Club; Wellington Wildcats senior girls’ cross-country.

High Performance Coach of the Year – Matt Kuzminski, basketball; Mike Maughan, lacrosse; Mike Vandekamp, hockey.

Grassroots Coach of the Year – Dave Nelson, volleyball; Gareth Saunders, swimming; Greg Sigalet, dragon boating.

Sport Administrator of the Year – Tyler Heisterman, track and field; Leah Johnson, swimming; Jereme MacKinnon, baseball.

Sports Story of the Year – Nanaimo Clippers’ playoff run; Nanaimo Pirates’ playoff run; Snuneymuxw Native Sons win Junior All-Native Tournament.

The Nanaimo Sport Achievement Awards will be held Feb. 12 at the Coast Bastion Hotel. To become an event sponsor, to make a donation to the silent auction, or for ticket information, please call event chair Marilyn Sullivan at 250-716-6110.

Nanaimo News Bulletin