Castlegar Aquanauts’ medal haul was impressive. (Submitted)

Castlegar Aquanauts’ medal haul was impressive. (Submitted)

Castlegar Aquanauts win regional meet

The Castlegar Aquanauts had an amazing meet this past weekend in Nelson.

The Castlegar Aquanauts had an amazing meet this past weekend in Nelson.

The Aquanauts returned as the victors of the Kootenay Regional Championship Swim Meet.

Racing against the entire Kootenay region to obtain a provincial qualifying position, the Aquanauts will be sending 12 athletes to provincials in Kamloops over Aug. 17 to 20.

Seventeen of our Aquanaut swimmers qualified to attend the BCSSA Provincials. The athletes able to attend this years Provincial Championships are: Hazel Johnson, Sebastian Johnson, Ethan Marshall, James Marshall, Kenna Cartwright, Claire Cartwright, Avery Cooke, Cayden Cooke, Ethan Lawczynski, Emma Lawczynski, Allynna Lipinski and Doug Van Ek.

Highlights from this past weekend include a high medal count for our team of 23 athletes.

The Aquanauts returned with 52 individual medals and two meet records from Claire Cartwright.

The team further achieved 60 best times with only seven disqualifications over the two-day meet.

Emma McIntosh swam many exceptional best times to end off her first year of swimming. Emma took off 18 seconds in her 100m Individual Medley and another 11 seconds in her 50m Breaststroke as well as another 11 seconds in her 100m Freestyle.

For Hazel Johnson, Sebastian Johnson and Allynna Lipinski this will be their first Provincial Championship meet.

All qualifying athletes are extremely excited to be competing in this meet. To all those swimmers who ended their season at Regionals, we look forward to seeing all athletes at the Aquanauts award night and 50th Reunion.

Congratulations to all Aquanaut athletes on a great season.

Individual Medal Count and Provincial Qualifiers:

Hazel Johnson – 100IM Bronze & 50Free Gold & 50Fly Silver & 100Free Gold

Emma McIntosh – 50Back Gold

Sebastian Johnson – 50Fly Bronze & 50Back Silver & 100Free Bronze

Ethan Marshall – 100IM Silver & 50Fly Silver & 100Free Silver

Andrew Seredynsky – 100IM Bronze & 50Back Silver & 50Breast Bronze

Claire Cartwright – 200IM Gold & 50Free Gold & 100Back Gold & 100Free Gold

Avery Cooke – 200IM Silver & 50Fly Bronze & 100Breast Bronze & 100Free Bronze

Allynna Lipinski – 200IM Bronze & 100Breast Silver

Bryce Anderson – 200IM Gold & 50Free Gold & 50Fly Gold & 100Breast Gold

Hunter Hansen – 100Back Bronze & 100Free Bronze

Cayden Cooke – 200IM Gold & 100Fly Gold & 100Back Gold & 50Fly Gold

Ethan Lawczynski – 200IM Silver & 50Free Silver & 100Back Bronze & 100Breast Gold

James Marshall – 200IM Bronze & 50Free Bronze & 100Breast Silver & 100Free Silver

Corbin Anderson – 200IM Bronze

Emma Lawczynski – 50Free Silver & 100Back Gold & 50Fly Gold & 100Free Silver

Noah Larocque – 50Fly Bronze

Doug Van Ek – 50Free Gold & 50Fly Gold & 100Fly Gold & 100Free Gold

Relay Medal Count:

Division 4 Girls Medley Relay – Claire Cartwright & Avery Cooke & Allynna Lipinski & Kenna Cartwright – Silver

Division 5 Boys Medley Relay – James Marshall & Ethan Lawczynski & Cayden Cooke & Ethan Marshall – Gold

Division 6 Boys Medley Relay – Hunter Hansen & Corbin Anderson & Noah Larocque & Bryce Anderson – Gold

Division 4 Girls Freestyle Relay – Avery Cooke & Kenna Cartwright & Allynna Lipinski & Claire Cartwright – Gold

Division 4 Boys Freestyle Relay – Hunter Hansen & Keegan Zemp & Andrew Seredynsky & Bryce Anderson – Gold

Division 5 Boys Freestyle Relay – Ethan Lawczynski & Ethan Marshall & James Marshall & Cayden Cooke – Gold

Division 8 Boys Freestyle Relay – Sebastian Johnson & Grady Rodgers & Kaiden Lipinski & Doug Van Ek – Bronze

Swim Chant

Castlegar News