Academic and athletic awards at Fernie Secondary School

Fernie Secondary School held the annual Academic and Athletic Awards ceremony on June 13.

Fernie Secondary School held the annual Academic and Athletic Awards ceremony on June 13.

The Academic Awards are presented to students based on their grades throughout the school year. Named for top distinction: Gr. 7 Shaylyn Johnson and Fynley Kuijt, Gr. 8 Jodi Thompson, Gr. 9 McKinley Richards, Gr. 10 John Iddon and Sarah Buchan, Gr. 11 Benjamin Voysey and Gr. 12 Cornelius Hart. Students were also presented awards for holding the highest grades in the following subjects: English – Bryce Kniert, Mathematics – Tyrel Sulzer, David Van Zyl and Cornelius Hart, Natural Science – David Van Zyl, Physical Science – Tyrel Sulzer, French – Joshua Brulotte, Social Studies – Tyrel Sulzer, Drama – Linden Gigliotti and Christian Elia, Pierre Mury Positive Contribution Award – Miranda Payne and Le Defi – Seth Amundsen and Lucas Preciado.

Athletic Awards were presented to the athletes named Most Valuable Players and Most Improved Players for the 2011/12 sports year: Senior Boys Soccer MVP – Eric Zuffa and Evan Link. Senior Boys Soccer MIP Tyrel Sulzer. X-Country Running MVPs – Katie Hopkins and Lindsay Weech.  Bantam Boys Volleyball MVP – Ryan Caldwell. Bantam Boys Volleyball  MIP – Oliver Robinson.  Bantam Girls Volleyball MVPs  – Jessica Payne and Taryn Kelly. Bantam Girls Volleyball MIPs – Megan Gigliotti and Fynley Kuijt.  Junior Boys Volleyball MVPs  – Kaiden Quattrin and Easton Elia. Junior Boys Volleyball MIP – Patrick Hughes.  Junior Girls Volleyball MVPs – Allison McLeay and Nashira Collet. Junior Girls Volleyball MIP – Lauren Nebsitt.  Senior Boys Volleyball MVP – Clinton Haarstad. Senior Boys Volleyball MIP – Ben Grimsrud.  Senior Girls Volleyball MVP – Bryce Kniert. Senior Girls Volleyball  MIP – Astrid Wallinger.  Bantam Boys Basketball MVP – Brandon Dixon. Bantam Boys Basketball MIP Turner Loewen.  Junior Boys Basketball MVP – Connor Saunders.  Senior Boys Basketball MVP – Ben Grimsrud. Senior Boys Basketball MIP – Tyler Sulzer.  Senior Girls Basketball MVPs – Emily Scheller and Kaylee Kormilo. Senior Girls Basketball MIP – Astrid Wallinger.  Ski Team MVPs – Kyle MacLean and Montana Andreola. Ski Team MIPs – Ryan Caldwell and McKinley Richards.  Snowboard Team MVPs – Easton Elia and Thea Gimard. Snowboard Team MIPs – Easton Elia and Aislinn Maguire.  Senior Girls Soccer MVP – Sarah Weech. Senior Girls Soccer MIP – Tessa Holmes.  Track and Field MVPs – Matthew McArthur,  Graham Anikina and Emily Scheller. Track and Field MIPs – Jeffrey Rayman, Kimberley Huismann and Montana Andreola. The Luigi Fabiano Memorial Soccer Award was presented to Erik Zuffa.  Athlete of the year Bantam level – Liam Teetzel and Lindsay Weech, Junior level – Connor Saunders and Kimberley Huismann,  Senior level – Ben Grimsrud, Bryce Kniert and Emily Scheller.

Congratulations to all the student for all of their hard work.

The Free Press