65th Annual Kispiox Rodeo

Quesnel cowboys compete in the 65th Annual Kispiox Rodeo.

The 65th Annual Kispiox Rodeo was another great success according to participants, spectators and organizer’s including Joy Allen and Roy Henry Vickers.

Great weather and non-stop action packed the stands both days and both dances were full to capacity.

While there were many highlights according to fans the winners were as follows: In the bareback, Cash Kerner from Pritchard took the buckle scoring an 85 for his ride with Prince George’s Jarred Marshall landing second.

Tie down roping was won by Riley Isnardy from Cache Creek followed by Dustin Shields from Vanderhoof.

Saddle bronc belt buckle winner was Steve Hohmann from Quesnel scoring an 81 followed by Garrett Madley from Alexis Creek.

Steer wrestling was won by Mike Gil from Merritt who flipped his steer in 4.7 seconds and second was Wade McNolton from 150 Mile House with a time of 4.9.

Breakaway roping was captured by Williams Lake’s Katrina Ilnicki with a time of 2.7 and fellow rider Denise Swampy took second with a 2.8.

Junior steer riding was won by Vanderhoof’s K.C. Spiers who scored a 74 followed by Jacob Gardner from Fort St. John.

The Ladies Barrel Racing top three finishes went to Prince George competitors starting with buckle winner Kirsten Gjerde who ran it in 16.153, second was Judy Hyde and third was Melanie Beaton. Junior Barrel Racing winner was Lane Wills from Quesnel who won with his time of 16.881 and second went to Rikki Hutnyk also from Quesnel.

Pee Wee Barrel buckle winner was Tyler Cherry from Quesnel with a  time of 17.680 followed by Dyson Leneve from Quesnel.

Junior Breakaway was won by Jake Gardner from Fort St. John who roped his calf in 4 seconds flat. Open Pole Bending was taken by Houston’s Kirsten Bell with her time of 21.808 and Quesnel rider Taylor Cherry came in right behind her.

Team Roping was won by Gary Nicholson and Glen Brown with a time of 7.7 seconds followed by Jody Coe and John Hancock.

The Bull Riding buckle was awarded to Mike Gill who scored a 79 on Terraforce and Ryan Jasper came in second on Sharpie.

The Cowhide race was won by home town hero, Kaleigh Allen and partner Charlie Atrill. All around cowboy went to Mike Gill.

All Around Cowgirl was Kirsten Bell and Junior winner was Taylor Cherry.

Sportsmanship went to Candy Moore in the ladies, Luke Muellen in the men’s and McKenzie Wills won the junior.

The Rodeo Queen was won by Hazelton’s Cassie Penfold and South Hazelton cowgirl Kassie Vipond earned the Princess title.

Quesnel Cariboo Observer