Nelson-Creston MLA wants residents to vote for Queen’s Jubilee Medal recipients

Three Creston Valley names are among 13 Nelson-Creston residents nominated for a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal...

Three Creston Valley names are among 13 Nelson-Creston residents nominated for a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Creston’s Phil Thomas and Anne Hepher, and Sirdar’s Shannon Nickish were selected by a short listing committee that met Tuesday to narrow a list of nominations submitted to Nelson-Creston MLA Michelle Mungall’s office in August. From the 13, the public will vote online or by phone from Sept. 7-21 to choose the final four who will have their names put forward to receive medals.

“Nominations came in from all corners of the constituency, for people from all walks of life,” said Mungall. “It was great to read about so many amazing people doing amazing work in the community. I know it was difficult for the short listing committee to choose only 13. “

The short listing committee, representing all regions of the constituency, was made up of Village of Salmo Coun. Janine Haughton, Creston Valley Advance editor Brian Lawrence, Columbia Basin Trust southwest community liaison and longtime Nelson resident Rona Park, and Kaslo’s J.V. Humphries Elementary-Secondary School and Jewett Elementary School principal Dan Miles.

In addition to Thomas, Hepher and Nickish, the committee also selected Steve Anderson, Bruce Walker and Hugh Walker from the Kaslo/North Kootenay Lake region; Gordon Broster, Marg Stacey, Joan Reichardt and Mary Ann Morris from the Nelson area; and Andrew Raney, Dorothy Hearn and Mary Jean Taylor from Salmo/Ymir.

“The decisions were difficult — there were so many worthy nominees,” said Lawrence. “But the selection we came up with represents a great cross-section of our communities.”

Residents can learn more about each nominee at and then vote once from their computers or by phone. The person with the most votes from each area will be forwarded on to the Queen for a Diamond Jubilee Medal that commemorates community service.

Mungall encourage everyone to visit her website,, or call the constituency office at 1-877-388-4498, to help decide who will be put forward to the Queen’s selection committee.

“Our region is blessed to have so many dedicated citizens,” said Mungall. “I am honoured that the Queen has allowed members of the legislative assembly to be a part of her diamond jubilee. I want to thank all those who nominated a local resident and the short listing committee for being a part of these once-in-a-lifetime medals.”

Creston Valley Advance

Just Posted

Most Read