Glenn Bennett returns as chief councillor for Kitselas First Nation after June 10 elections. (Submitted photo)

Kitselas First Nation votes Glenn Bennett as chief councillor on June 10

Six council members were also elected from a packed pool of candidates

  • Jun. 11, 2021 12:00 a.m.

The Kitselas First Nation has elected Glenn Bennett as chief councillor in a vote held June 11.

It marks the return of Bennett as he has held that position in past years.

Bennett received 66 votes out of 215 for the position of chief and will take over from outgoing chief councillor Judy Gerow who received 63 votes in her bid for re-election.

The other candidates who ran for the office of the chief include former Kitselas chief councillor Joe Bevan who received 36 votes. Outgoing councillor Lynn Parker received 38 votes, Pat Squires got six votes and Eli McMillan received five votes.

Cyril Bennett-Nabess got reelected to council with 125 votes. Out of the other five people elected to the council, Jerico Bevan received 100 votes, Geneva Mason 75, Victor Wright 64, Gerald Nyce 63 and Ken Jr. McDames 57.

Outgoing council members Harold Lloyd McDames Sr., Chad Gerow and Lynn Parker who sought reelection were unsuccessful. Outgoing chief councillor Judy Gerow who also ran for the position of a council member was unsuccessful too.

In total 215 votes were cast for chief and council and one ballot was rejected.

The June 2021 election for Kitselas had a packed pool of nominees contesting for the position of one chief councillor and six council members. There were seven nominees for the position of chief and 24 for councillors.

The election was held in accordance with the Indian Act Election Regulations and was overseen by electoral officer Drew Shaw of One Feather, a company that oversees and conducts elections on behalf of First Nations clients.

Terrace Standard