Heritage BC annual awards nomination deadline extended

If you haven’t yet nominated an organization, group, business, government for the 35th Heritage BC Annual Awards Program

  • Dec. 17, 2015 1:00 p.m.

If you haven’t yet nominated an organization, group, business, government or an individual for the 35th Heritage BC Annual Awards Program, you now have until January 7, 2016 to submit a nomination.

The Heritage BC Annual Awards Program recognizes the outstanding and significant achievements in heritage conservation in communities across B.C.

The awards recognize best practices and high standards in heritage conservation, based on the national Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada and also emphasize innovation and commitment to heritage conservation that also contributes to environmental, economic, social, and/or cultural sustainability.

There are opportunities available in four categories: Heritage Conservation; Heritage Education and Awareness; Heritage Planning and Management, and the Ruby Nobbs Volunteer Award.

There are three different levels for the awards categories: Outstanding Achievement, Honour, and Recognition.

Projects nominated for an award must have been completed within the past three calendar years.

Last year’s award winners include the renovation of York Theatre in Vancouver, restoration of Central Elementary School in Kelowna, and the Hands on Heritage project completed by the Langley Heritage Society.

More previous award winners can be seen at www.heritagebc.ca.

The awards will be presented at the awards ceremony and Gala, which will place during Heritage Week in February 2016.

Making a nomination is easy, just complete the nominations form on the Heritage BC website before the January 7, 2016 deadline.


Williams Lake Tribune

Just Posted

Most Read