Funtastic executive director resigns

Tony Pallas announces departure after two years at position; Vernon mayor new board president

The Funtastic Sports Society is on the hunt for a new executive director.

Tony Pallas announced his resignation prior to the organization’s annual general meeting in Vernon Tuesday.

“Working with a volunteer board of directors, there are lots of big parts,” said Pallas Wednesday. “The direction the board was heading and my efforts to steer the board in that direction did not align.”

Pallas started with Funtastic in December 2015 on a one-year contract, which was renewed at the end of the term. His current contract was set to expire November 30.

Pallas said there’s no hard feelings toward Funtastic.

“Not at all,” he said. “I have a great passion for the Funtastic Sports Society. It’s unbelievable. The volunteers and businesses totally work together to make it the success it is.

“It’s Canada’s largest slo-pitch tournament. I leave knowing I’ve left my stamp on things and have shown the board exactly what they need to do to make it successful for the next 34 years.”

No replacement for Pallas has been named.

There’s also a familiar name leading the board of directors.

Vernon Mayor Akbal Mund moves from first vice-president to president, replacing Diana Williamson who stepped down but will remain with the board.

“I know Funtastic is important to our community and we’re going to continue to move in the right direction. We’ll be fine,” said Mund. “Diana did a great job in running Funtastic and we’re thrilled she’s still on the board. Her experience is invaluable and will be a huge help to others.”

Also named to the board were incumbents Rob Ellis, Tim Reardon, Brad Steel, Christine Bosworth and Ryan McGiverin. Todd Miller and Corinne Van de Crommenacker are returning to the board after a short absence, and Jamie Austin is a newcomer.

There remains one position to be filled.

The Funtastic slo-pitch tournament and music festival is held every Canada Day long weekend in Vernon, Armstrong and Enderby.