Winners of the 2017 Penticton Indian Band council (left to right) Joan Phillip, Fred Kruger, Ernest Jack, Kyle Alec and Inez Pierre. Two of those councillors were returned to the the table Thursday. (File photo)

Five council members elected to Penticton Indian Band council

Members of the Penticton Indian Band elected five members to the band council Thursday.

Two of five Penticton Indian Band (PIB) councillors who lost their seats with the successful appeal of the 2017 byelection, have been returned to the council table.

Inez Pierre and Fred Kruger and three other members were declared elected following Thursday’s voting.

Joining them will be, Vivian Lezard, Charlene Roberds and Carlene George.

READ MORE: PIB to host new by-election after successful appeal of 2017 results

Pierre topped the polls with 133, while Kruger and Lezard had 128 and 127 votes respectively. Roberds had 126 and George 123.

The five will join the existing council members under Chief Chad Eneas until late 2020 when the PIB enters into a new election cycle.


@PentictonNews newstips@pentictonwesternnews.comLike us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Penticton Western News

Just Posted

Most Read