Directors re-elected, CEO to retire

Experience counted when the members of the Salmon Arm Savings and Credit Union elected their new board of directors

Experience counted when the members of  the Salmon Arm Savings and Credit Union elected their new board of directors.

Re-elected to three-year terms are Nancy Cooper, John Schlosar, and Charlotte Sutherland. The lone newcomer, Barry Johnson, was elected to a two-year term.

In addition to the new board, Michael Wagner, CEO of SASCU Financial Group, announced that he would be retiring in one year.

“SASCU is an amazing place and we have an incredible group of people that work here. I am very proud of what we have been able to do,” says Michael. “Salmon Arm is a wonderful community and we will be remaining here after I retire.”

The board has begun the formal recruitment process and a new CEO is expected to be in place prior to Wagner’s departure.

During the strategic planning meeting of the board of directors this weekend, the board voted to maintain the leadership. Glenn Hill continues as board chair, John Schlosar as vice-chair, and Ken Black as secretary.

Director Rochelle Dale, chair of the governance committee, announced the in-branch and online voting results.

“While there was a 45 per cent decrease with in-branch voting, we saw an increase of 330 per cent to our online voting. These results give a clear indication of where we will focus our resources for voting in the future.”



Salmon Arm Observer