Sunny success for Cyswog‘n’Fun

The 2014 Nelson Cyswog
The 2014 Nelson Cyswog'n'Fun was a sunny success on Sunday.
— image credit: Eli Geddis photo

The Nelson Cyswog'n'Fun triathlon was a sunny success on Sunday morning, attracting enthusiastic athletes from all across the country.

The race began at Lakeside Park at 8 a.m., and was broken down into two categories: Sprint Distance and Olympic Distance.

The shorter race consisted of 500 metre swim, 22 km cycle and a 5km run. The long course was nearly double that, with a 1.5 km swim, 39 km cycle and 10 km run. Participants could choose to compete as an individual or a team.

In the Olympic Distance category, Dallas Cain of Rossland placed first with a time of 2:03:12. Sarah MacArthur of Calgary was the fastest woman, finishing at 2:08:54.

In the Men 20-29 category, Kyle Moore of Calgary came first with a time of 2:04:30, almost forty minutes faster than his closest competition. In the Men 30-39 category, Cain took the top spot. In the Men 40-49 category, Scott Tremblay won with a time of 2:03:49. In the Men 50-59 category, Alex Seal of Salmon Arm won with a finishing time of 2:20:45. Mal Finch of Vancouver won the Men 60-69 category at 2:44:14, beating out local favourite Con Diamond of Nelson, who finished at 2:50:53.

In the Women 20-29 category, MacArthur won. In the Women 30-39 category Jaclyn Dexter of Nelson won the top sport at 2:23:45. Neufeld took the top spot in the Women 40-49 category at 2:19:43. In the Women 50-59 category, Carol Currie of Trail won with a time of 2:40:00.

The Olympic Distance team competition consisted of 15 teams consisting of two or three members.

Two Peas and a Veep, a team made up of Nelsonites Alexander Kalabis, Ron Sherman and John Francis, came first with a time of 2:16:02. Calgary team the Sore Boozers finished second at 2:24:34 and Family Fun, a Nelson team consisting of Hannah, John and Dylan Devris, came third.

In the Sprint Distance competition, Trent Renshaw of Sydney placed first with a time of 1:04:36. The fastest woman in the Sprint Distance competition was Dannica Stevenson-Wade of Kelowna at 1:15:04.

In the Women 16-17 category, Clark was the only competitor. In the Women 18-29 category, Sarah Berrett of Calgary won with a time of 1:20:52. In the Women 30-39 category, Rita Cain of Rossland came first with a time of 1:24:50. Stevenson-Wade won the Women 40-49 category. In the Women 50-59 category, Kelly Waterfield of Nakusp finished first at 1:23:17. In the Women 60+ category, Judy Lloyd of Nelson won with a time of 1:37:05.

In the Men 18-29 category, Sean Funk of Cypress County came first at 1:05:56. Renshaw won the Men 30-39 category. Michael Hoher of Nelson won the Men 40-49 category with a time of 1:23:15. In the Men 50-59 category, Michael Godfrey of Calgary won with a time of 1:11:54. David Lloyd of Kelowna came first in the Men 60+ category with a time of 1:21:38.

The fastest Sprint Distance team was Team Speed of Trail, which consisted of Jackson, Mike and Jackson Konkin. They finished at 1:05:11. Second went to the Timberwolves at 1:19:16 and Three Gals Go at 1:32:10.

The Nelson Star’s own Will Johnson and Tamara Hynd competed in the event and placed 13th in the long course route with a time of 2:53:56.

Full results will appear in the Star’s print editions this week.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Related Stories

You might like ...