Sports awards on tap

The Tim Hortons North Okanagan Sport Awards winners will be honoured Tuesday night (6:15) at the old Lakers Clubhouse.

Since 1993, the awards have been recognizing teams, athletes, and sport leaders who have contributed to sport.

Previous winners include Paralympic curler Sonja Gaudet, Jim Cotter’s curling rink, the Vernon Vipers, Fulton and Seaton volleyball teams and speed skater Connie Kapak.

“The awards celebrate those in our communities who spend countless hours in the pool, on the courts or on the field, whether as an athlete, a coach or as a volunteer,” said Shannon Mazereeuw, Sport Program Leader with PacificSport Okanagan.

“The awards allow us to thank those who are involved as well as highlight their accomplishments.”

The Sport Awards has three categories: Athlete of the Year, Team of the Year and Sport Leader.

Those nominated for athlete of the year include: Paralympic skier Josh Dueck, field lacrosse player Bayne Bosquet, Kirsten Dodds of university soccer, Curtis Lazar of the Western Hockey League Edmonton Oil Kings, Olympic snowboarder Kevin Hill and university golfer Conner Kozak.

The public is encouraged to attend, free of charge, with refreshments and snacks supplied by Dan Currie of Tim Hortons.

Mel Briggeman chairs the awards committee which includes John Topping, Currie, Betty Selin, Peter McIntyre, Mazereeuw and Kevin Mitchell.



We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...