Brody Greig named CCAA Athlete of the Year

Brody Greig is presented with the CCAA Athlete of the Year Award by Langara’s president and CEO Lane Trotter.  - Jennifer Oehler
Brody Greig is presented with the CCAA Athlete of the Year Award by Langara’s president and CEO Lane Trotter.
— image credit: Jennifer Oehler

Brody Greig is the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association’s Athlete of the Year.

The 24-year-old basketball player from Richmond won the award this week, on the heels of leading the Langara Falcons to the national men’s basketball championship with a thrilling 88-86 final-game victory ove Red Deer College Kings March 15 in Squamish.

Greig kept the Falcons alive in the final moments of the match, sinking seven free throws in a row in the last 30 seconds. The  six-foot-three guard averaged a “triple-double” at the tournament, with 22 points, 10 rebounds, and 12 assists per game. The win secured the Falcons’ first national basketball title in 15 years, and Greig was named MVP of the tournament.

His other honours this season included:

•Three-time PacWest athlete of the week

• PacWest Conference 1st team all-star

•PacWest player of the year

•PacWest provincial championship gold medalist

•PacWest provincial championship MVP

•CCAA All-Canadian

“I’d like to thank my teammates and coaches,” Greig said. “And of course I’d like to thank the CCAA, not only for recognizing my personal achievements, but for recognizing the hard work and success of my team.”

Greig is spending the summer working for his family’s business and looking for opportunities to play basketball professionally.

“Brody is a natural leader and an incredibly talented athlete,” said men’s basketball head coach Paul Eberhardt, who is helping scout opportunities for Greig.

“He’s been a key contributor to the team’s success this year, and we’re so proud he’s been recognized for his dedication and skill with this award.”

Each year one male and one female athlete are chosen from across all CCAA sports to be recognized as Athlete of the Year. The last Langara Falcon to be recognized with the award was soccer player David Griffith in the year 2000.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.