Bulldogs hand out team awards

The Alberni Valley Bulldogs handed out their year-end awards at a banquet held Saturday, March 15 at the Black Sheep Rugby Club’s building.

Following is a list of the awards, according to Bulldogs’ play-by-play commentator Evan Hammond.

Coaches Award— Tryg Strand, Connor LaCouvee

Academic Players of the Year (Sponsored by The See Group)— High School: Zach Funk; College: Rob Click.

Best Defenceman—Kurt Gosselin

Rookie of the Year—Scottie Clark

Humanitarian Award—Dylan Haugen

Unsung Heroes—Dylan Haugen, Zach Funk, Josh Adkins, Ron Paulson

Community Hero—Alberni Valley Bulldogs’ season ticket holders

Top Scorer—Justin Georgeson

Most Improved Player—Darian Henry

Most Sportsmanlike—Zach Funk

Most Valuable Player—Connor LaCouvee

Fan Choice (voted by the fans, sponsored by the Port Alberni Port Authority)—Tryg Strand.

The Bulldogs’ B.C. Hockey League season ended on March 12 with a 5-4 Game 7 double overtime loss to Victoria Grizzlies in Victoria.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.