Duncan club’s volunteer efforts go above and beyond the call of duty

Duncan Curling Club
Duncan Curling Club's Ken Percival receives appreciation plaque from Curl B.C.'s Mike West for hosting the B.C. mixed championships.
— image credit: Don Bodger

The curlers put on a great show on the ice and Duncan Curling Club volunteers handled all the off-ice duties to perfection during the B.C. mixed championships.

Ken Percival, chair of the organizing committee, received a plaque from Curl B.C.’s Mike West in appreciation to the Duncan club for hosting the event.

Meanwhile, winning the championship was a case of deja vu for Duncan’s Sarah Wark.

She was also on the last team from the valley to win the title in 2009 with Jason Montgomery, Nicole Montgomery and Will Duggan.

Before that, it was Wes and Roz Craig, Randy Thiessen and Cheryl Noble winning in 2001.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.