Calgary, Warman in Sunday Coke Classic final

It will be the Calgary Blackfoot Chiefs and the Warman Wildcats of Saskatchewan in Sunday's Amy Myles Memorial A final of the 43rd annual Coca-Cola Invitational Pee Wee Hockey Tournament at Civic Arena (5:30 p.m.).

The Chiefs are the lone undefeated entry in the eight-team international tourney after ambushing the Vernon Watkin Motors Vipers 10-3 in semifinal play Saturday afternoon. Vernon will play the Edmonton Knights of Columbus Lancers in Sunday's Alex Kuly Memorial B final at 3:15 p.m.

Warman got four goals from Kyrell Sopotyk as they brushed back Edmonton 7-5 in the other Saturday semifinal. Austin Lamotte supplied 1+4 for the Wildcats. Graeme Bryks pocketed four snipes for the Lancers.

At the tournament banquet Saturday night at the Vernon Best Western Lodge, Vern Olson of Calgary was named winner of the Ernie Kowal Memorial Award as top coach of the Coke Classic.

The Springbank Whalers of nearby Calgary won last year's tournament. The last a time a Saskatchewan team claimed the title was 1977 when the Swift Current Broncos prevailed.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.