Sports in BRIEF

Slopitch meeting

Penticton Slopitch is having its annual general meeting for mixed league play on Feb. 18 at the Ramada Inn at 7 p.m.

There will be an executive election for all positions, as well as, a general forum to discuss any proposed league changes for 2014 (all suggestions welcomed.) The first deadline for team registrations is March 7 ($750 per team, with the second and final deadline March 14 ($800 per team). Schedules can be picked up at the Barking Parrot on March 24 at 7 p.m. More information can be found at

Mustangs down George Elliot

The Princess Margaret Mustangs senior boys basketball team earned a 64-27 win over the Coyotes at George Elliot Secondary. The Mustangs used most of their bench players with the Coyotes a weaker team, said coach Raj Dhillon. The Mustangs are preparing to play Summerland Secondary on Feb.12 in the South Zone championship at Princess Margaret. Meanwhile, the Mustangs junior boys team basketball team clinched first place in the South Zone league with a dramatic 42-39 win against the Pen High Lakers. Prab Chahal calmly hit two free throws with eight seconds remaining to secure the victory. Jacob Winstone led the Mustangs by draining 14 points, while Paul Garcha added 13 and Gurk Klar scored nine to pace the balanced Mustangs attack. The team will now host the South Zone playoffs on Feb. 14-15.

Men’s Rec Hockey


Hitmen 9: Tim Truman (3) Brett Van Riper (2), Dave Sandrelli, Joel Post, Mark Petry and Len Charters.

Cawston Cold Storage Best Damn Wings 3: Jared Collen 3

Best Damn Wings 8: Collen (4), PJ Forbes (2), Cody Hantelman and Colton Stewart.

Game Time Sports Wolverines 2: Jack Strommen and Post.

EcoDry Ice Dogs 10: Chris Goodjohn (3), Mike Funk (2), Trevor Aubie, Nick Riep, Darren Leadbeater, Sam Gill and Sean Maktaak.

Mule Broncos 1:

Jason Seddon


EcoDry IceDogs 12: Gord Henderson (3), Maktaak (2), Funk (2), Gill (2), Brent Mosses (2) and Chad Deleeuw.

Game Time Sports Wolverines 6: Ryan MacMurchy (2), Strommen (2), Joel Marte and Scott Weatherhead.

EcoDry Ice Dogs 8: Maktaak (4) Darren Leadbeater (3) and Mosses.

Hitmen 7: Dave Sandrelli (3), Doug Chadwick (2), Justin Shuttleworth and Chris Arlidge.

Cawston Cold Storage Best Damn Wings 3: Jared Collen (3).

Mule Broncos 2: Stuart Nisbet and Carl Walton.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.