Muse Awards ceremony April 23

Winners of the third annual Muse Awards will be honoured April 23.

Coordinated by the District of Mission's cultural resources commission (CRC), the awards celebrate the contribution the arts make to the quality of life and economy of the community.

The awards are being held during BC Arts and Culture Week. The gala event includes light refreshments and entertainment by guitarist Charles Aarons and the Serenata Singers.

Following are this year's winners:

• music: Jennie Bice and Alex Rake and the Leaves;

• visual arts: Jo-Anne Hartley;

• performing arts: the Le'qa:mel Drummers and Dancers and Gerwyn MIlls;

• literary arts: Daphne Sleigh;

• arts advocate: Wendy Lewington, Liisa Nessim, What's On Magazine and the Mission Optimists Club;

• Lifetime achievement: Valerie Hundert.

Tickets to the awards ceremony are free but must be ordered in advance via https://2014muse.eventbrite.ca.

The event will be held at the Cafetorium in the Clarke Theatre (33700 Prentis Ave.) and starts at 7 p.m.

For more information send an email to the CRC at culture@mission.ca, or visit missionculturalresources.ca or the CRC's Facebook page.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.