Community Papers

SPOTLIGHT: RCMP Supt. honours officers, civilians

Coquitlam RCMP Supt. Claude Wilcott honoured fellow officers and civilians last month with OIC awards. - coquitlam rcmp
Coquitlam RCMP Supt. Claude Wilcott honoured fellow officers and civilians last month with OIC awards.
— image credit: coquitlam rcmp


Officers, volunteers and civilians were honoured by the Coquitlam RCMP last month.

Supt. Claude Wilcott bestowed his Officer-in-Charge (OIC) accolades for valour, community service, leadership and excellence in performance “to publicly recognize some of the extraordinary actions taken by private citizens as well as the men and women of the Coquitlam RCMP in service to the communities of Anmore, Belcarra, Coquitlam and Port Coquitlam,” he said in a news release.

Pictured above from left to right are: Supt. Claude Wilcott, auxiliary constable Zabrina Braithwaite-Kelso, Const. Michelle Luca, Cpl. Scott Shorten, Julie Wytrwal and Cpl. Jamie Chung.



The foundation for the Royal Columbian Hospital, which serves the Tri-Cities, has a new board of directors.

This week, it announced the appointment of Coquitlam resident Doug Eveneshen, president and CEO of Community Savings Credit Union, as chair and Meldy Harris, a certified financial planner with Sun Life of Canada, as vice chair.

RBC portfolio manager Steve Osachoff will be the foundation treasurer/secretary. Other 2014-’15 directors are: John Ashbridge, Frank Butzelaar, Tom Corsie, Sharon Domaas, Larry Kozak, Erin O’Halloran, Gary Pooni, Dwight Ross, Dr. William Siu, Dr. Laurence Turner and Helen Sparkes.



Three Tri-City teens are vying for a pageant title on Monday. Coquitlam’s Amy Bassi and Luvena Kwong as well as Zoey Parnell of Port Moody are among 50 contestants competing for Miss BC, Mrs. BC and Miss Teen BC crowns.



The philanthropic Coquitlam Foundation has a new face on its board.

Ken Catton, who recently retired as vice president and GM of Pacific Coast Terminals in Port Moody, will replace Wim Vander Zalm at the table.

Catton is a director of Crossroads Hospice Society and is a former chair of the Tri-Cities St. John Ambulance.



Coquitlam has a new deputy fire chief. At Monday’s council-in-committee meeting, Greg Mayberry introduced his replacement: assistant fire chief Rod Gill, who officially took over the reins on Thursday.



Land and water stewards were recognized for their work in Coquitlam at the city’s 11th annual Environmental Achievement Award dinner, held earlier this month.

The 2014 recipients are: Hannah Brown, Sophia Draper and Shauna Turner (youth individual award); Miller Park community school’s environmental team leaders (youth group award); Coquitlam River Watershed Rountable (adult group award); Muriel and John Lagan, Kiyoshi Takahashi and Pasquale Gnocato (adult individual awards); and Quirien Mulder Ten Kate (environmental educator award).

Meanwhile, certificates of appreciation also went to: Louise Allan, Poroshat Assadian, Sandy Budd, Eva Collins, Garry Elgear, Friends of Finnie’s, Elaine Golds, Inspiration Garden Harvest Team, Leasa Masters, Tony Matahlija, Pinetree secondary Key Club and Jason Turner.





A total of 16 high school students from the Tri-Cities have won spots in the SHAD science, technology, engineering and math program.

The students beat out 1,200 applicants from across Canada for a place the award-winning program that starts next month.

Those who will attend are: Joel Ahn, Michelle Chen and Sophie Bruneau (Dr. Charles Best secondary); Eric An, Mulan Ramani, Adrienne Yap, Daisy Wei and Celestina Tanase (Port Moody secondary); Cheslie Chan, Samantha Feng, Jeff Gao, Julie Han, Anika Lee, Christiana Zhang and Max Pang (Gleneagle secondary); as well as Robyn Lee (Burnaby Mountain secondary).


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.