Community Papers

26 women nominated for Ethel Tibbits award

26 women have been nominated for the 21st annual Ethel Tibbits Women of Distinction Awards, which will be held on Friday, March 14 at the Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport.

The luncheon, from 11:15 a.m. to 2 p.m., celebrates the accomplishments of women who help make Richmond a great place in which to live, work and play.

The Ethels, named after the pioneering publisher and editor of The Richmond Review, are also a fundraiser for Nova House, a shelter operated by Chimo Community Services for women and children who are escaping domestic violence.

Since 1994, the event has raised more than $280,000 for local women's charities, with Nova House being the primary beneficiary.

The 2014 nominees are:

• Community (Volunteer): Qi Chen, Leanne Chew, Susan Hutcheon, Amanda Bostik, Christine Campbell, Shyrose Nurmohamed, Mary Scott, Corisande Percival-Smith, Christen Haines;

• Community (Professional): Ahlay Chin, Brenda Plant, Margie Hardy, Rosalie Walls and Carol Young;

• Arts: Elena Steele and Marina Szijarto

• Youth: Janice Callangan, Muriel Faifman and Emma Partridge;

• Sports: Margaret Hobson, Michelle Weisbom, Anne Gillrie-Carre and Alisa Carey;

• Business: Yasmin Ali/Kathryn Lucarino and Shelley Smith.

For information about tickets, e-mail or call 604-247-3700.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.