Community Papers

27 women nominated for Ethel Tibbits award

27 women have been nominated for the 20th annual Ethel Tibbits Women of Distinction Awards, which will be held on Friday, March 8, 2013 at the Radisson Hotel Vancouver Airport.

The luncheon, from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., celebrates the accomplishments of women who help make Richmond a great place in which to live, work and play.

The Ethels, named after the pioneering publisher and editor of The Richmond Review, are also a fundraiser for Nova House, a shelter operated by CHIMO for women and children who are escaping domestic violence.

Since 1994, the event has raised more than $250,000 for local women’s charities, with Nova House being the primary beneficiary.

And the nominees are: Community (Professional): Wendy Toyer, Angela Soon, Rosalie Walls, Ella Huang, Deneanne Quamme; Community (Volunteer): Magdalen R. Leung, Mary Scott, Clara Chow, Donna Gillette, Charmis De Boer, Leora Voladarsky, Beverley Drayton, Louise Young, Gloria Sweder, Gloria Lauris Elkholy; Arts: Elsa Rojas Marquez, Annette Jakubowski/Heather Joosten-Fair; Youth: Dayah Johal, Emily De Boer, Rosemary Cheung, Ariel Tsai; Sports: Debbie Pyne, Shirley Olafsson; Business: Cady Xu, Jana Yackel, Erin Berkyto.

For information about tickets, e-mail or call 604-247-3700.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...