Community Papers

Seeking nominations for Woman of the Year


The Cranbrook Club of the Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) is seeking nominations from the community for its 28th annual Woman of the Year award.

Any woman in the East Kootenay region is eligible to receive the award based on the following criteria: her contributions to the education and/or advancement of women, and how she has inspired and enriched the lives around her by her endeavours. The nominee’s contributions and achievements may have taken place in the last year or over a period of time. Her efforts may have been part of paid employment, voluntary, or a combination of both.

“Education” does not necessarily carry an academic meaning, but can be more widely interpreted to mean supporting and encouraging learning.

The women who have been honoured by this award are very much admired and respected by those with whom they come into contact. Often they are “unsung heroines” of the community. Last year, it was Sister Nina Glinski CND, and in 2011, the Woman of the Year was shared by Vicky Dalton and the late Velma McKay. The club has honoured more than one woman before and did in 2011, as both women served on many of the same boards, did the same type of volunteer work and grass roots work to better improve our community for all, but especially women.

Other woman of the year recipients include Sandy Zeznick, Janyce Brampton, Karin Penner, the late Linda Abbott, Jayne Garner-Galarneau, Leona Gatsby, Sophie Pierre, Mila Siguenza, Sheilah Moore, Janice Edwards, Ruby Sinclair, Susan Campbell, Flo Reid, Daphne Hayden, Pat Skordal, Anne Buckman, Pat Townshend, Jan Levang, Susan Selby, Anna Mae Gartside, Louise Stropky, Brenda Paul, Ann Rice, Mary Phillips, Elaine Fawcett, Cathy Fairclough and Mabel Chan.

Recipients of this honour are selected from nominations submitted by the public. Nomination forms are available only at our web site

The deadline for nominations is Friday, February 15, 2013 at noon.

“The Club tries to arrange the Woman of the Year Award ceremony the same day as International Woman’s Day,” said Cathryn Henley, President of the Club, “but that is a Friday this year, so we may have to choose the 6th or 7th of March instead. We will announce the date as soon as we know.”

CFUW Cranbrook celebrated their 30th Anniversary in September 2012, and has worked hard to establish two perpetual scholarships and a bursary at the College of the Rockies. The group also provides scholarships at Mount Baker Secondary School. They also support Visual Arts, Math & Science Conferences, the Canadian Museum of Rail Travel, as well as the public library. The CFUW is a national and international group with seats on the United Nations.

The local branch meets every third Thursday of every month. Check our website for more information about our work and our club.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...