Community Papers

Past Ethel Tibbits’ winners sought for 20th anniversary

The behind-the-scenes work for the 20th annual Ethel Tibbits Women of Distinction Awards is well underway, but with the March 2013 event still four months away, organizers are now focusing on reaching out to former winners.

So if you are a former winner, or know of somebody who is, please alert them to the fact that organizers are trying to track them down.

Former winners are asked to e-mail with their contact information, as organizers have a special unveiling in mind for the 2013 fundraising luncheon that benefits Nova House, a shelter for women and their children escaping domestic violence.

Since 1994, the Ethels have recognized the invaluable contributions women have made to making the Richmond community a great place to live, work and play. With Nova House being the luncheon’s primary beneficiary, the bulk of the $200,000 raised over the past 20 years has gone to support services for women.

The special 20th anniversary is an important milestone for the Ethels, named after the pioneering former publisher of The Richmond Review who was known for being a firebrand and for raising social issues that were taboo at that era, including voicing her disagreement with the government’s decision to intern people of Japanese descent during the Second World War.

Past Ethels Tibbits winners include: 1994, Arts—Eva Baker, Business— Georgina Evans, Community—Arlene Lawson, Sports—Camille Noel; 1995, Arts—Jacquie Leeson, Business—Priya Aswani, Community—Norma Suarez-Jordan, Sports—Carol Biely; 1996, Arts—Agnes Thompson, Business—Gail Terry, Community—Charolotte Diamond, Sports—Trish Nicholson; 1997, Arts—Trudy Morse, Business—Janice Barnes, Community—Frances Clark, Sports—Gayle Guest; 1998 Arts—Page Hope-Smith, Business—Shelley Leonhardt, Community—Lynne Bigg, Sports—Dolly Des Rochers; 1999, Arts—Audrey Coutts, Business—Linda Shirley, Community—Colleen Lobelsohn, Sports—Julie Halfnights; 2000, Arts—Eva Baker, Business—Diane Dupuis, Community—Elinor Ellis, Sports—Bonnie Beaman; 2001, Arts—Colleen Kason, Business—Beverly Strench, Community—Lin Richardson, Sports—Cheryl Taunton; 2002, Arts—Linda Shirley, Business—Cynthia Chen, Community—Jennifer Larsen, Sports—Cheryl Dunham; 2003, Arts—Barb Mogan, Business—Margaret Dixon, Community—Cindy Chan, Sports—Margaret Dragu, Youth—Gillian Cooper; 2004, Arts—Heather Webster, Business—Dorothy Dawson, Community—Lisa Fleischer, Sports— Dr. Nancy Cochrane, Youth—Jullin O’Scheaur; 2005, Arts—Louise Hudson, Business—Rosemary Mundigel,Community—Elisabeth Van Hest, Sports—Tammie Kruger, Youth—Tamara Vishnakoff; 2006, Arts—Janice Froese, Business—Barbara Bell, Community—Barbara Tuck, Sports—Penny Talbot, Youth—Kathleen Hodges; 2007, Arts—Tamaka Fisher, Business—Linda Shirley, Community—Marielle Demorest, Sports—Pat Morrison, Youth—Caylee Raber; 2008, Arts—Lennie Tan, Business—Elizabeth Specht, Community—Manninagh L’Abbe, Sports—Stephanie Kennedy, Youth—Nikki Avendano; 2009, Arts—Melanie Pudlas, Business—Ami McKay, Community—Nina Graham, Sports—Marilyn Gubb, Youth—Prianka Dhir, Pioneer—Frances Clark; 2010, Arts—Suzanne Haines, Business—Soo Wong, Community—Rev. Margaret Cornish, Sports—Kim Seaborn, Youth—Ivy Wan, Pioneer—Lois Carson-Boyce; 2011, Arts—Cherelle Jardine, Business—Carol Reichert, Community—Judi Merrell, Sports—Linda Strelau, Youth—Perri Tutelman. Pioneer—Sally Houston; 2012, Arts—Adrienne Moore, Business—Tiffany Kirk, Community—Linda Reid, Sports—Denise Coutts, Youth—Maggie Kong, Pioneer—Olive Bassett and Jennifer Larsen.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...